The option to delete messages and conversations has been removed. When we did allow it we regularly had people unintentionally deleting important conversations they should not have. They would ask us to reinstate them or ask for the other parties phone number but, as we no longer had that information, we could not help them. We decided to only let people archive unwanted conversations so now they can always retrieve the important ones if required.